A Ku Indeed!

Saw This Coming

Posted in Uncategorized by Chris on September 18, 2007

My wife makes fun of me a lot because I tend to watch science fiction. Well, that’s not true…if I watch television it’s almost certainly science fiction. She jokes that if I’m watching TV, you can be sure that there’s a Saturn-shaped planet in the bottom right side of the screen (if you know what that means, you watch too much sci-fi too).

My defense to my wife is that sci-fi watching is preparatory work. It is based on two arguments: the first establishes the inductive likelihood of life on other worlds. The second concludes the inductive likelihood that some of that life will be hostile. Thus, sci-fi prepares you to be on the lookout for the sure signs of other-worldly invasion, the signs of strange people who have been compromised by alien consciousness, and so on. She doesn’t buy it, but that’s my story.

In any case, today I open up Yahoo mail and I find this story. Mmm hmm. This is how it happens, folks. I’ve seen this scenario in far too many movies. Those people get sick, then they’ll start acting very stoically, people will swear that they aren’t being themselves…you know where it leads.

Don’t say I didn’t warn you. 🙂

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Swad said, on September 19, 2007 at 2:00 am

    Nah, we’ll just create a race of supercomputing robots to destroy the virus. Problem is, they’ll end up destroying us too. THAT will be the fate of our race.

    So say we all.

    -Swad, the oh-so-ready-for-the-final-BSG-season grad student.

  2. Purple said, on September 27, 2007 at 2:16 pm

    This was this mornings yahoo! headline:

    “METEORITE CRASH BREEDS MASS HYSTERIA”

    http://news.yahoo.com/s/space/20070927/sc_space/meteoritecrashbreedsmasshysteria

    …funny story…

    ;purple


Leave a Reply

