A Ku Indeed!

When One Vessel Meets Another Vessel

Posted in Course Material, Values Analysis by Chris on October 4, 2007

There’s a great post up at Bainbridge on “trophy wives.” It’s a short post that outlines an apparent ad that was put out on Craig’s List by a woman looking for a rich husband, and then a reply from a rich guy (or at least someone claiming to be) saying why she isn’t going to get what she’s looking for (or at least that she wasn’t what he was looking for). It’s funny in the sort of “is this what it’s come to?” kind of way. Basically, for those of you out there that think it’s fine to see others as merely tools (vessels in Confucianism), this is where that viewpoint leads with respect to relationships.

Go read it, it’s the perfect combination of sad and funny all at once.

To my younger students: is this the way your dating world is? Say it ain’t so!

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Adam said, on October 4, 2007 at 4:08 pm

    Oh my. Is it more or less sad that at least these people are honest about something that many people implicitly form relationships around?

    I want to adapt a line from the Princess Bride, but about being “beautiful”. To both of them: “You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.”

  2. lindsey said, on October 4, 2007 at 7:00 pm

    I wanted to fire off a quick response of “No! That’s not how the dating world is at all!”

    But then I remembered a conversation I had with a co-worker just the other night-

    Me: “I wouldn’t let someone treat me like that. Why are you talking to him?”

    Her: “Well he’s not that cute, but he’s going to be a doctor and I wanna get me some of that! Yeaaah! You know? ”

    So perhaps there is no hope, but I enjoy defying that ideal by dating a religion and philosophy major. Good thing I like ramen.

  3. Million said, on October 5, 2007 at 4:34 am

    Craig’s List is awesome. It’s where I get ALL, and I do mean ALL, of my girlfriends. Take this little gem for example:

    http://www.craigslist.org/about/best/chi/291079504.html

    I mean, that little snipit got me hundreds of e-mails. I had women crawling all over me. In all honesty though? The dating world isn’t that far off. I don’t know what it was like back before you met the Mrs. but it’s pretty possessive today. Then again it provides an explanation of how relationships routinely become power struggles.

    Ah… attempts to extend the ego to other people though a possessive concept of “ownership.” VEEERRY INNNTERRESTING.


Leave a Reply

