A Ku Indeed!

The No-Peeing Section of the Pool

Posted in Life by Chris on January 10, 2008

image-crematory1.gifI walked into a restaurant today and was immediately bowled over by the deep fog of cigarette smoke. I mean fog — not just in smell, but in sight. It was thick throughout the whole place. My wife and Parker and I went over to the “no-smoking” section, as far as possible away from the “smoking section” but it made no difference. The smoke was thick everywhere. Why? Well, because the “smoking” section has two separate 8 foot wide walkways that are open and through which you can enter the “no-smoking” sections. And they are open. Nothing in between. No door. No partition. Nada.

Don’t get me wrong. I don’t care about the smokers. I smoked 2 1/2 packs a day for over 20 years. But I don’t anymore, so I’d like to be able to sit smoke-free. And in these places, I can’t imagine what the point of dividing up the sections is, if the smoke, which being naughty won’t “stay in its own area” of its own will, will just drift right through the open walkways and fill the whole place up anyway? These kinds of places remind me of what a friend said to me once about these comedic smoke/no-smoke divisions. He said that it was like having a “peeing” and “no peeing” side of a pool.

A pretty good analogy, if you ask me.

Leave a Reply

