A Ku Indeed!

Confuicius Planted a Big Tree

Posted in China, Chinese Philosophy by Chris on February 18, 2008

I saw this first over at Manyul’s, but now I see CNN has picked up the story from China Daily. In any event, Confucius has a lot of descendants. As I mentioned at Manyul’s, last summer I was in Confucius’ town and saw the “Confucian Forest” which is where direct descendants (there are further rules, I can’t remember them) are buried. A big place, and lots of graves as you might suspect. But still a lot of room for more! In addition, “authenticated” 15th generation descendants of the Kong family work in the Confucian Temple, creating wall paintings for visitors. I can’t trace my family back 15 generations, that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

