A Ku Indeed!

Arthur C. Clarke: Now a Starchild

Posted in Life by Chris on March 18, 2008

2010pic2.gifOne of my all-time favorite science-fiction writers, Arthur C. Clarke, died today at the age of 90. Of course, most people know him by the Stanley Kubrick version of one of his famous books — 2001, A Space Odyssey (where the “star child” reference comes from and the pic to the left, if you know the book). I always found his combination of imagination and intelligence delightful. A philosopher’s sci-fi writer for sure. Although most of his books followed very similar themes, they are all great reads, from my favorite Childhood’s End (also a great Pink Floyd song, inspired by the book) to Rendevous with Rama. Thanks for the great reads, Arthur. Hopefully you now know what is inside the monolith.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. eyeingtenure said, on March 18, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    I remember reading the whole Odyssey series before I was old enough to appreciate it or realize that the first one was the only really good one.

  2. lindsey said, on March 18, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    Oh my! I hadn’t heard…

    I loved the Rama series! My dad read the first one to me and I went on to read the other ones by myself.

    Be sure to read science fiction to Parker. That way you two can alienate her mom later in life by having whole conversations that reference cylindrical space-craft or computers named Hal. 🙂

  3. Swad said, on March 19, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    Rest in peace.

    “All these planets are yours…”

  4. Swad said, on July 16, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    So, as a follow up, I ended up buying Childhood’s End after your post here. Excellent, excellent. Now one of my favorites too.


Leave a Reply

