A Ku Indeed!

Boo on Hillary

Posted in Politics by Chris on March 25, 2008

So Hillary just couldn’t stay out of it. She had to say it. I knew it was coming. She said that if Jeremiah Wright had been her pastor, she would have quit that church at the start. Somehow I suspect that Clinton’s understanding of race issues in America is pretty nuanced and sophisticated. Her comment does not express that. Which makes this, in my opinion, pure cynical politics at its worst.

Boo on you, Hillary. Boo.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 1dumblonde said, on March 25, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    You’re correct. She should have kept her mouth shut about it. I like her, and I still prefer her to Obama, but this was an issue she did not need to touch.

  2. eyeingtenure said, on March 25, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    I never expected anything else from Hillary, so I was more disturbed by this analysis. Was his speech that evasive? Did his speech really insult the intelligence of the average American?

  3. Chris said, on March 25, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    Perhaps it did, I don’t know. If it did, then this country is not ready to really have a discussion about race that moves beyond the “black folk just need to start showin’ some gratitude towards us white folk for all the stuff we do for em’ and the problem of race would disappear” point of view.

    Which means, if you ask me, that if it did, then it’s not because the average American doesn’t deserve to have his/her intelligence insulted.

    I don’ t buy into the Tolstoy-ean glorification of the “average person” that NRO has (a glorification they are more than happy to toss when it doesn’t suit them). The “arrogant Elitist” framing to me is nothing more than excessively tiresome. My eye-rolling muscle would be ripped beyond belief if I had to read that stuff all the time.

  4. Bill Stickers said, on March 27, 2008 at 12:49 am

    A boo indeed! A boo indeed!

  5. Chris said, on March 27, 2008 at 6:27 am

    Bill,

    Heh.

    Actually, it would be: “A boo that is not a boo! A boo indeed! A boo indeed!”


Leave a Reply

