A Ku Indeed!

The Book Draft is Done!

Posted in Existentialism, Life by Chris on March 27, 2008

As some of you know, I’ve been slaving away for months nonstop on a book manuscript (Existentialism for Dummies — yeah, that series). Today was the final deadline from the publisher, and it is DONE. I can’t express the relief. It’s been fun, but at the same time it’s been an intense amount of work. I feel like the last 9 months of my life weren’t my own. I think my daughter and wife are looking forward to me rejoining the family again. I’m looking forward to getting the edits back in a month and then having this puppy all wrapped up by the end of May, and maybe at that point I can not just rejoin the family, but the rest of my life too.

Whew.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. eyeingtenure said, on March 27, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    The last nine months of what, now? I am amused.

  2. Chris said, on March 27, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    Heh, good eye, Eye.

    That clearly didn’t come out the way I’d intended.

    🙂

  3. Swad said, on March 27, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    Congrats! I was on campus today and stopped by your office, but now I know why you weren’t around!

    My master’s program is 9 months too… I’m thinking it’s some sort of cosmic constant number for painful and beautiful creations. 🙂

  4. Adam said, on March 30, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    Good on ya. Glad it’s done. Too much time writing about despair can take a toll on just about anyone. Now time to sit back and collect .10 royalty checks for the rest of your life.

    Come to think of it, the coming recession should be good news for your book’s sales. So many people contemplating existence and what it all means…

    I’ll raise a pint in your honor tomorrow night!

  5. Manyul Im said, on March 31, 2008 at 11:58 am

    Hey Chris, et. al. you might be interested in the Existential presidential candidate:

    http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-2961663405631936189

    (Also click on the predecessor videos “Kant Attack Ad” and “Nietzsche Attack Ad” for context, a good laugh, and the sobering realization that it’s only funny because it’s true.

    Enjoy!

  6. Chris said, on March 31, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    Swad, Adam — thanks. I think I’ll return to the Borg regeneration chamber now.

    Manyul:

    Kierkegaard with the American flag draped behind him, and with cheesy election ad music in the background. He’s spinning over and over in the grave, I’m sure! I guess soon the opposition will be asking him to “disavow” his connection to that old spiritual adviser of his, Abraham. After all, how un-American is it to drag your kid to the top of the mountain to stab him to death? As soon as that comes out, Kierkegaard’s election hopes are sunk.

    They got it right on Kant, though.


Leave a Reply

