A Ku Indeed!

Armaund Nietzsche? Fuggetaboutit.

Posted in Miscellaneous by Chris on June 4, 2008

I’m clueless — apparently this 2007 film, When Nietzsche Wept, came and went and I didn’t even notice. What caught my eye, though, was the fact that Armand Assante is playing Nietzsche. Armand Assante? Really? I don’t know. When I think Assante, I think of the kinds of “tough guy” types my dad hung out with in the very Italian sections of the Bronx — you know, the guys who are perpetually cursing, even when they aren’t mad although they always seem pissed off, and have extremely thick New York accents. I think Assante, I think Gotti. But Nietzsche? This I gotta see.

Anyone see this film?

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Devil's Advocate said, on June 4, 2008 at 10:32 am

    Good indie movie, takes a lot of creative and dramatic licensing to make an original idea. The tag line, “We are more in love with desire than the desired” is very apt. Can’t believe you haven’t seen it. And yes, Armand Assante does not disappoint.

  2. Alexus McLeod said, on June 4, 2008 at 11:21 am

    Yeah, he definitely wouldn’t be the first actor to pop up in my mind to play Nietzsche either. What’s next, Arnold Schwarzenegger as Immanuel Kant? (though that might be pretty cool, actually…)

  3. Allan said, on June 4, 2008 at 11:35 pm

    Decent film if you don’t like Nietzsche. If you do, then you will be appalled at the disrespect shown him, particularly toward the end of the film. The whole point of the movie is to make him an object of pity, and to reveal his philosophical position as the product of his loneliness. Everyone does a decent acting job, the plot is good, everything is well written…but every time someone watches this movie it makes Nietzche’s ghost wail.

  4. Million said, on June 5, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    Christ, the plot synopsis completely flies in the face of my senior capstone project… I’m diggin’ the transformation of Lou Salome though. Quite the fox.

    http://www.imdb.com/media/rm808358400/tt0760188


Leave a Reply

