A Ku Indeed!

William Ayers, on Rate My Professor

Posted in Politics by Chris on October 5, 2008

Most of you no doubt have at least read about the connections (or lack of connections, depending on your point of view) between Barack Obama and William Ayers. The Republicans have been pushing these alleged connections hard in recent negative ads, given that Ayers was a former member of the Weather Underground, a domestic terrorism group from the 1960s. In any case, the point of this post isn’t political, but rather to point out that Ayers has a ratemyprofessor page. Seems a bit surreal in many ways, but there it is.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Will said, on October 6, 2008 at 11:44 am

    Sidenote: I saw a documentary on the Weather Underground a few years ago, and it was highly enjoyable. 1968-69 would have been a great time to be a young radical. You can bet that I’m probably on some Patriot Act watch-list for thinking that.

    http://www.upstatefilms.org/weather/main.html

    Netflix it.

  2. Devil's Advocate said, on October 6, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    Have you checked out your ratings? Come on, admit you have some vanity. I’d give you an A+.

    What do you mean by “alleged connections”? Saul Alinsky always advocated that comrade community organizers should stick together! Deny! Deny Deny! Remember what Goebbels said too, “If you tell a lie big enough and keep repeating it, people will eventually come to believe it.”

  3. Chris said, on October 6, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    Devil,

    The point of the post wasn’t political, so I’m neither confirming nor denying — thus “alleged”.

    Besides, I suppose it depends on what “connection” means, right?

  4. Devil's Advocate said, on October 6, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    My apologies for making this political…I was watching Krauthammer when I made my post. I guess the context of the actual word “alleged” itself has a political connotation. Not unlike playing down its significance or implicitly denial. I guess this would work in tandem with the m.o. of guilty until proven innocent. The context of “connection” is they have political and philosophical sympathies; both labored under similar causes, and have had plenty of opportunity for the exchanging of ideas. Perhaps a better world would be “associated,” more humanistic?

  5. Chris said, on October 7, 2008 at 5:54 am

    Devil,

    Yeah, I was just trying to avoid politics there. By “alleged” I didn’t mean “it’s up in the air whether they met or spoke” but rather “it’s up in the air what you make of the term ‘connection’.” Whether “association” is better, I don’t know.

    Personally, I think the Ayers story is a mixed bag. I think the “connections” with respect to the foundation work are not politically interesting. He’s against poverty and an education reformist, so is Obama. Working on the same issue in a foundation seems uninteresting to me.

    The only place where, for me, there’s any political traction is in the meeting in the early 1990s, where Ayers held a “coffee” meeting to help him gather people to talk about his first state senate run. Here whether this was a level of bad judgment high enough to rule him out as a candidate, I’ll leave up to people to decide.

    However it gets sliced and diced, though, I will say one thing: I highly doubt that Obama harbors terrorist sympathies, or is a Manchurian Candidate with terrorist ideas waiting to emerge (this is where “connection” or “association” takes on a different meaning). And this is really the point being pushed by McCain.

  6. Devil's Advocate said, on October 7, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    You never replied to my first question, have you checked your ratings on Rate My Professor?

    Would Confucius think of himself as a “community organizer?”

  7. Chris said, on October 7, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    Devil:

    1. Yep.

    2. Depends on what you mean by “community organizer”.


Leave a Reply

