A Ku Indeed!

The Family 2c Registered

Posted in Politics by Chris on November 4, 2008

1104e_thumb2The Panza-Cathey’s have now officially inserted their 2c on the American political scene. We brought Parker along for the experience too. She got upset that there weren’t any “booths” (no idea where she got that from). Parker’s booth comment did conjure up a memory of my first presidential vote — in the Reagan versus Mondale election (when I did vote in a booth!). A very different political climate today compared to 1984, that’s for sure. To let Parker play an active role, I let her put my ballot into the machine, which she thought was fun. Seeing this, the election worker gave Parker an “I Voted” sticker for her efforts. In the car I asked her who she voted for, and she crossed her arms and looked away, saying that she wouldn’t tell me. Typical.

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bill Haines said, on November 4, 2008 at 9:06 am

    Hooray for voting! For a couple of weeks I was worried that I wasn’t going to get my absentee ballot. Finally it came. Now I’m going to be uselessly anxious for a dozen hours or more. Stories of bad machines, stories of long lines in the wrong districts. Maybe I’ll get some sleep.

  2. Alexus McLeod said, on November 4, 2008 at 9:52 am

    You lucky bastard–you’re in a key swing state, whereas I’m stuck in solid blue Connecticut! (Though I’m sure you must be sick of political ads) One positive of being in CT though is that there was basically no line to vote, I just walked in, voted, and was out within a minute. Did you guys have long lines down there?

  3. Chris said, on November 4, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    Alexus:

    I’ll trade you. You can live in MO and experience the thrill of being in a battleground state. I’ll move to CT and be politically bored. 🙂

    No line at all. I walked right up to the election table. But I live in the boonies, so my precinct probably has 2000 people in it. It would be hard for there to be a line here.

    Bill,

    I think we’ll have to fix this election line problem quickly in the US. Perhaps have an “election week” (as opposed to one day) or move it to internet voting (when the security issues are worked through). Something has to be done. It’s just wrong to have to wait 7 hours to vote. This isn’t a third world country.

    Glad you got your absentee ballot!

  4. Jay Mullen said, on November 5, 2008 at 7:03 am

    I owe you and Adam a round of beers. In fairness to me, I predicted that Obama would come up short before the meltdown of the financial markets. That piece of data sort of mattered. LOL. Peace out.

  5. Chris said, on November 5, 2008 at 11:40 am

    Jay,

    All successful politicians owe that success to some degree of luck. George W Bush was lucky that he was running against Gore, the running mate of the guy who had oral sex in the White House. Without that, I have no doubt Gore would have won. He then had the luck of running in 2004 in a post 9/11 environment where people saw dangerous bomb throwing Muslims around every corner. Absent that, I’m not sure Kerry would not have won. And now Obama has the luck of being in the opposition party after a financial meltdown. Luck is everywhere. It’s what you do with it that counts. Many would say that George W squandered his luck. Whether Obama does too, we’ll have to see.

    On the beer — I don’ t want any of that cheap crap “Joe the Plumber” beer that Republicans here seem to love, like “Natural Light”. I want good Liberal elitist beer, like Bass Ale or Guinness. 🙂

  6. Jay Mullen said, on November 5, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    You should know that I only drink good beer. Should all 3 of us actually get together for a pint, well, that would be fun.

    I still remember watching the 2000 election with Bloomfield and Adam and others at Ted’s. That was pure reality tv. Boy did I have too much to drink that night.

  7. Chris said, on November 6, 2008 at 6:24 am

    Looking forward to it!

    With Bloomfield and Adam? What a strange trio.

  8. Jay Mullen said, on November 6, 2008 at 7:43 am

    If I recall correctly, it was Paul’s first semester and first grad seminar at UCONN. He was teaching and working through his book, Moral Reality, before it was completely done and published. He was taking the class out for pizza and beer and somehow this fell on election night. As the drama continued to unfold, the pitchers seemed to have holes in the bottom of them. I recall my wife calling Ted’s (didn’t have a cell phone, then…ah the good ole’ days) in the wee hours of the morning looking for me. Thankfully, I lived to tell another tale.

  9. Bill Haines said, on November 6, 2008 at 8:20 am

    Speaking of election night, Chris, what’s with Missouri? The New York Times still marks it as undecided for President. Is there any reason for hope?

  10. Chris said, on November 6, 2008 at 8:45 am

    Bill,

    I would guess that they’ll eventually toss it into the red category. Last time I looked, McCain was up 4000 votes. I would guess at this point they are just waiting for all the absentee ballots to be counted (no rush, nothing riding on it). I don’t see any reason to think that those ballots (if that’s the issue) are demographically biased in sample (all from St. Louis, say), so I suspect the state will then tilt red. In addition, there’s no reason for a recount, since nothing rides on it.

    If you ask me, though, I’d be perfectly happy if it just stayed gray!


Leave a Reply

