A Ku Indeed!

The Dead Are Everywhere

Posted in Fun by Chris on November 5, 2008

In the last few weeks I’ve absorbed a few more zombie movies into my vast knowledge base. Yeah, I can’t help it. It’s my weakness. Besides, the radiation from the Venus probe has sparked so many movies it’s hard to keep up with them. See below the fold for the reviews. All bad this time, I’m afraid.

1. Day of the Dead (2008). 1 star (of 5).

I saw this one in my neighborhood movie store, and was taken in by the fact that Mena Suvari was in it. Mena Suvari? In a zombie movie? Yeah. She’s washed up. American Beauty all the way to a horrible “remake” of Romero’s 1985 classic. She wasn’t even that good in it, to add insult to injury. Someone explain to me why Romero agreed to let them use the title. Money? It must be. It even had little to do with the original — it just leeched off the association with the classic. Bad, bad, bad. IMBD viewers gave it 4.5 out of 10 (4,000 votes). Hard to believe.

While I was in the movie store I noticed another recent 2008 release — Flight of the Living Dead: Outbreak on a Plane (is this some crazy zombie version of “Snakes on a Plane”?). I just could not bring myself to do it. Even a zombie freak like myself has to have standards.

2. Gangs of the Dead (2007) 0 stars (out of 5)

OMG. This one was on cable last week. A meteor crashes into east L.A. (what’s wrong with the radiation from the Venus probe?) and turns homeless people into zombies. Eventually, two rival east L.A. gangs hole up in a warehouse to escape those nasty flesh eaters. Some nice deaths, but beyond that — it’s horribly bad!

As I’m typing this post, oddly enough, the original Night of the Living Dead is on the tv, which is interesting given the anti-racism message of the film and the recent Obama victory.

Watching it as I type, one thing did stick out to me that I hadn’t noticed before. In the Dead mythos, zombies don’t acquire “tool ability” until at least Day of the Dead (Bud has it, and he was taught the ability by the good doctor). The zombies seem to all have the ability by Land of the Dead. But here, in Night, tool using ability exists already. I’d missed it. The little girl in the basement kills her mother with a small garden spade. Don’t know why that never stuck out to me before.

Yeah, okay. I’ve been thinking about zombie films for too long.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rick Boyer said, on November 5, 2008 at 8:51 pm

    Thanks for posting the article, was certainly a great read!

  2. Will said, on November 6, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    What a disappointment. You would think with such great subject material, they would manage to produce more than a handful of entertaining films.

    As far as I’m concerned, Romero is the only one with any hope for a decent film–but even he has been really letting me down lately. The new Diary of the Dead was the last I’ve seen of his, and it was miserable.

    The Resident Evil series is crap, Mila Jovovich couldn’t act her way out of a paper bag. Not that I need good acting in a zombie flick, but it helps.

    Give me a budget and a camera, and I’m fairly certain I could write a decent zombie film. I mean, zombies! Who couldn’t come up with something entertaining?


Leave a Reply

