A Ku Indeed!

Sabbatical Reading

Posted in Academia, Analects, Chinese Philosophy, Ethics, virtue ethics by Chris on December 28, 2008

An unmistakable sense of lightness has come over me. I wonder: am I no longer chained to the wheel of samsara? Have I achieved enlightenment? In alignment with the Tao? Seamlessly integrated into my role-ethical obligations? Nothing so grandiose, but somewhat analogous: I’m on sabbatical for the calendar 2009 year. I have a lot planned for the year — research articles, specifically — but first things first. A lot of cool reading! Below the fold I’ve listed the books that are in front of me in the “sabbatical pile” that has been building up for the last few weeks (regular and steady arrivals from Amazon mostly). I’m curious to know if anyone has an opinion on any of these books. Which one would you start with?

Here’s what I have in the pile. “NR” means “never read it”, “R” means I’m going to re-read it, and “P” means I’ve read parts of it before.

Any thoughts or comments on any of these?

1. (NR) Chin, Annping, The Authentic Confucius

2. (NR) Graham, A.C, Disputers of the Tao

3. (NR) Goldin, Paul, Rituals of the Way

4. (P) Yu-lan, Fung, A Short History of Chinese Philosophy

5. (R) Kline and Ivanhoe, Virtue, Nature and Moral Agency in the Xunzi

6. (NR) Yao, Xinzhong, An Introduction to Confucianism

7. (NR) Chong, Kim-Chong, Early Confucian Ethics

8. (NR) Schwartz, Benjamin, The World of Thought in Ancient China

9. (NR) Gardner, Zhu Xi’s Reading of the Analects: Canon, Commentary and the Classical Tradition

10. (NR) Ivanhoe, P, Ethics in the Confucian Tradition: The Thought of Mengzi and Wang Yangming.

11. (NR) Ames, Roger, Self as Person in Asian Theory and Practice

12. (NR) Jones, Confucius Now: Contemporary Encounters with the Analects.

13. (R) Hagen, K, The Philosophy of Xunzi

14. (R) Fingarette, H, The Secular as Sacred

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bao Pu said, on December 29, 2008 at 9:17 am

    Hi Chris,

    Wow, a whole year off. I wish I could do that (and still eat!). What would I start with? How about that review article I suggested by Michael LaFargue dealing with Mencius and the debates about human nature? 😉
    http://www.faculty.umb.edu/michael_lafargue/WM/writings/mencius-review.htm

    Judging by your list, it seems you are on a path to becoming a Confucian scholar. I’ve read most of Disputers of the Tao and World of Thought in Ancient China. I liked them both. I read the first “half” of Fung Yulan’s book, which I recall was good. I’ve only read little bits of some of the others. (I’m more focussed on early Daoism.)

  2. Chris said, on December 30, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    Bao:

    Yep, the reading list is distinctively Confucian in orientation. What can I say? I actually like Taoism quite a bit, but I need to focus in somewhat, and I’m just more interested in some of the discussions within the Confucian tradition.

    I’ve already got that review article saved to my computer! 🙂


Leave a Reply

